Key Stages of the Process of Grief
The process of Loss and Bereavement

1. Denial and disbelief

2. Alarm - anxiety, restlessness, physiological accompaniments of fear

3. Urge to find/search for lost person/object/title/job/security/known situation.

4. Anger and guilt

5. Bargaining - in anticipation and reaction to the loss/threatened loss

6. Despair and depression - internal loss and deprivation

7. Identification phenomena - adopting traits, habits of deceased/adopting behavior patterns to insure that the loss/perceived loss does not occur again in the person's environment. In the case of job/career security this can be taking on traits of person that is perceived as causing the loss. At this stage one may begin to repress certain aspects of their personality and curtail their instinct to reach and respond in relationship to their environment and world. Withdrawal.

8. Pathological variants - delayed/prolonged/inability to grieve.
Lack of motivation. The loss/perceived loss must be grieved in order to move through the cycle and restructure. It is at this point that many people may feel "stuck", blocked, or feel a virtual victim of circumstance and environment. The feeling of "why try again?" "It's no use." may prevail.

9. Acceptance - non-acceptance or resignation. This is a decision making interim; and the beginning of recovery as a resolution is mandated at this point.

10. New identity - reorganization. At this juncture the restructuring begins and all that entails in the process, and individual development.